You are here

Book Discussion Groups

Movies & Books

So many films are made from books these days! Come enjoy the movie and, if you wish, check out a copy of the corresponding book. Seating at the movie screening is limited to 125.

Movie Poster art Book cover art

On Saturday, August 5th at 1:00pm we will be screening The Zookeepers Wife. Jessica Chastain stars in the real-life story of one working wife and mother who became a hero to hundreds during World War II. This movie runs 126 minutes and is rated PG-13.


Tinley Tomes

Tinley Tomes comprises two groups that discuss a variety of fiction and nonfiction. One group meets at 1:30 pm on the second Wednesday of the month and the other at 7:30 pm on the fourth Tuesday. Selections are available at the Adult Reference Desk in hardcover, large print, and audio formats one month before the discussion date. Discussions are held in Meeting Room A unless otherwise noted.

Tuesday Tomes Selections for Fall 2017

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley cover art

September 26thThe Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti
"Loo is twelve when she moves back to the New England fishing village of her early youth. Her father, Hawley, finds work on the boats, while she undergoes the usual heartaches of a new kid in school. But lurking over Loo are mysteries, both of the mother who passed away, of the grandmother she's forbidden to speak to. And hurtling towards both father and daughter are the ghosts of Hawley's past. Before Loo's birth, he was a professional criminal engaged in increasingly elaborate and dangerous underworld schemes. Life on the road was harsh - Samuel Hawley took "twelve bullets" in his brutal career. The scars have healed, but there is a reckoning still to come"-- Provided by publisher.

Anything Is Possible cover art

October 24thAnything Is Possible by Elizabeth Strout
"Anything Is Possible explores the whole range of human emotion through the intimate dramas of people struggling to understand themselves and others. Here are two sisters: One trades self-respect for a wealthy husband while the other finds in the pages of a book a kindred spirit who changes her life. The janitor at the local school has his faith tested in an encounter with an isolated man he has come to help; a grown daughter longs for mother love even as she comes to accept her mother's happiness in a foreign country; and the adult Lucy Barton (the heroine of My Name Is Lucy Barton, the author's celebrated New York Times bestseller) returns to visit her siblings after seventeen years of absence. Reverberating with the deep bonds of family, and the hope that comes with reconciliation, Anything Is Possible again underscores Elizabeth Strout's place as one of America's most respected and cherished authors"--Amazon.com.

The Observations cover art

November 28thThe Observations by Jane Harris
"The Observations is a hugely assured and darkly funny debut set in nineteenth-century Scotland. Bessy Buckley, the novel's heroine, is a cynical, wide-eyed, and tender fifteen-year-old Irish girl who takes a job as a maid in a once-grand country house outside Edinburgh, where all is not as it seems. Asked by her employer, the beautiful Arabella, to keep a journal of her most intimate thoughts, Bessy soon makes a troubling discovery and realizes that she has fled her difficult past only to arrive in an even more disturbing present."--Amazon.com

 

Wednesday Tomes Selections for Fall 2017

Year of No Clutter: A Memoir cover art

September 13thYear of No Clutter: A Memoir by Eve Schaub
The author explores the hoarding phenomenon as reflected by such cultural examples as Hoarders and The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up while sharing the personal story of how she organized a single room in her house that had been overtaken by psychological clutter.

The Guineveres cover art

October 11thThe Guineveres by Sarah Domet
"In the vein of The Virgin Suicides, a dazzling debut novel about four girls inexplicably named Guinevere, all left by their parents to be raised by nuns"-- Provided by publisher.

The South Side: A Portrait of Chicago and
American Segregation cover art

November 8thThe South Side: A Portrait of Chicago and American Segregation by Natalie Moore
"Mayors Richard M. Daley and Rahm Emanuel have touted and promoted Chicago as a "world class city." The skyscrapers kissing the clouds, the billion-dollar Millennium Park, Michelin-rated restaurants, pristine lake views, fabulous shopping, vibrant theater scene, downtown flower beds and stellar architecture tell one story. Yet, swept under the rug is the stench of segregation that compromises Chicago. The Manhattan Institute dubs Chicago as one of the most segregated big cities in the country. Though other cities - including Cleveland, Los Angeles, and Baltimore - can fight over that mantle, it's clear that segregation defines Chicago. And unlike many other major U.S. cities, no one race dominates. Chicago is divided equally into black, white, and Latino, each group clustered in their various turfs. In this intelligent and highly important narrative, Chicago-native Natalie Moore shines a light on contemporary segregation on the South Side of Chicago through reported essays, showing the life of these communities through the stories of people who live in them. The South Side shows the important impact of Chicago's historic segregation - and the ongoing policies that keep it that way"-- Provided by publisher.

 

Books with Buzz

Are you looking for a forum for discussing bestsellers? Come to Books with Buzz which meets on the third Thursday of every other month at 7:30 pm in the Young Adult Program Room. Each selection will be announced at the preceding discussion. Join the Buzz!

No One Is Coming to Save Us cover art

September 21stNo One Is Coming to Save Us by Stephanie Powell Watts
Inspired by The Great Gatsby, Watts’ novel retells the iconic American saga from the perspective of an African American family with its colliding visions of the American Dream.
This is the inaugural pick of Sarah Jessica Parker for the American Library Association’s new Book Club Central.
Copies available at the Adult Reference Desk while supplies last.

Uncommon Type cover art

November 16thUncommon Type by Tom Hanks
Two-time Oscar winner Tom Hanks takes a break from acting and tries his hand at writing with this collection of 17 short stories. Surprising, intelligent, and heartwarming, these tales evoke memories of the many appealing roles Hanks has played. The title is a play on Hanks’ passion for typewriters, which find their way into every story.
Copies of the book will be available at the Adult Reference Desk starting October 17, while supplies last.


Partners in Crime

Partners in Crime is our mystery book discussion group led by Fran Heinemann of Outreach Services. This group meets the first Tuesday of the month at 7:30 pm.

September: No discussion

She’s Not There cover art

October 3rdShe’s Not There by Joy Fielding
"A vanished child, a family in turmoil, and a fateful phone call that brings the torments of the past into the harrowing present . . . the New York Times bestselling author of Someone Is Watching weaves these spellbinding elements into a gripping novel of psychological suspense—a must-read for fans of Laura Lippman and Mary Higgins Clark."--Amazon.com

The Beautiful Mystery cover art

November 7thThe Beautiful Mystery by Louise Penny
When a peaceful monastery in Québec is shattered by the murder of their renowned choir director, Chief Inspector Armand Gamache and Jean-Guy Beauvoir of the Sãurete du Québec are challenged to find the killer in a cloistered community that has taken a vow of silence.