You are here

Computer Classes

More technology help options:

  • Lynda.com
  • Search our catalog for DVDs, ebooks, physical books, and more about computers
  • Ask a Librarian online, call 708.532.0160, x.1, or stop by to speak with a Librarian or Computer Assistant

June

Registration begins on Saturday, May 20th via phone, online, or in person.

Basics

Mousercise-Thursday, June 1 from 6:30-8 pm. Class size: 6
Learn how to use a standard two-button mouse.

Introduction to PCs-Friday, June 2 from 10 am-noon. Class size: 8
Teaches fundamentals of personal computing.

Google Like a Guru-Monday, June 5 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 6
Learn how to find and evaluate info on the Web.

Introduction to Email-Tuesday, June 6 from 10 am-noon. Class size: 6
Register for and learn the basics of a Gmail account.

Beyond the Basics

Build a Website-Thursday, June 8 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 8
Build websites/blogs with WordPress and HTML.

Organize Your Digital Files, Folders, and Photos-Tuesday, June 20 from 10 am-noon. Class size: 8
Organize your digital life on a computer and in the cloud.

Job Search

Introduction to LinkedIn-Monday, June 26 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 6
Designed for those without a LinkedIn account.

Digital Citizenship

Tech Time: Drop-in Help-Monday, June 26 from 9-11 am. NO REGISTRATION
Bring your device for 1-on-1 assistance.

Password Management-Tuesday, June 27 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 8
Learn to create and store secure passwords.

Mobile

Hello, Android-Thursday, June 1 from 10 am-noon. Class size: 10
Bring your phone or tablet to learn what makes Androids unique.

Digital Media

Oral Histories: Preserve Your Past-Friday, June 9 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 8
Record your voice in digital format.

Photoshop 'til You Drop-Wednesday, June 14 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 4
Enhance your photos in Adobe Photoshop

Microsoft

Word Basics-Thursday, June 15 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 8

Word: Tables, Templates, and Macros-Wednesday, June 21 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 6

Excel Basics: Operations and Formatting-Tuesday, June 6 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 8

Excel Pivot Tables-Monday, June 12 from noon-12:45 pm. Class size: 8

Excel: Tables for Large Spreadsheets-Tuesday, June 13 from 10 am-noon. Class size: 8

Excel: Simple Financial Report-Tuesday, June 20 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 8

PowerPoint Basics-Monday, June 19 from 10 am-noon. Class size: 6

Windows 10 Basics-Wednesday, June 7 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 10

July

Registration begins on Tuesday, June 20th via phone, online, or in person.

Basics

Mousercise-Monday, July 3 from 10-11:30 am. Class size: 6
Learn how to use a standard two-button mouse.

Introduction to PCs-Wednesday, July 5 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 8
Teaches fundamentals of personal computing.

Google Like a Guru-Thursday, July 6 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 6
Learn how to find and evaluate info on the Web.

Introduction to Email-Friday, July 14 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 6
Register for and learn the basics of a Gmail account.

Beyond the Basics

Build a Website-Saturday, July 29 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 8
Build websites/blogs with WordPress and HTML.

Job Search

Online Job Searching-Thursday, July 13 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 6
This class also covers Word for resumes and cover letters.

Digital Citizenship

Online Privacy and Security-Wednesday, July 19 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 12
Learn strategies for keeping your digital life safe.

Parenting in a Digital Age (Grades 4-7)-Friday, July 21 from 7-8 pm. Class size: 30
Topics include parental controls, social media, privacy, and cyberbullying.

Parenting in a Digital Age (Grades 8-12)-Friday, July 28 from 7-8 pm. Class size: 30
Topics include parental controls, social media, privacy, and cyberbullying.

Tech Time: Drop-in Help-Monday, July 31 from 9-11 am. NO REGISTRATION
Bring your device for 1-on-1 assistance.

Mobile

You and iOS-Friday, July 7 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 12
Bring your iPad/iPhone/iPod touch to learn more about Apple's mobile devices.

Hello, Android-Tuesday, July 11 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 10
Bring your phone or tablet to learn what makes Androids unique.

Digital Media

Lights, Camera, Action!-Monday, July 24 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 4
Record, edit, and share videos with green screen technology.

Digitize It! VHS to DVD-Tuesday, July 25 from 2-4 pm. Class size: 4
Convert VHS tapes to digital formats.

Microsoft

Word Basics-Monday, July 17 from 10 am-noon. Class size: 8

Excel Basics: Operations and Formatting-Monday, July 10 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 8

Excel for Home Budgeting-Monday, July 17 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 8

Excel Intermediate: Functions and Charts-Thursday, July 27 from 10 am-noon. Class size: 8

PowerPoint Basics-Tuesday, July 18 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 6

Windows 10 Basics-Wednesday, July 12 from 6:30-8:30 pm. Class size: 10

More Technology Help Options:

  • Lynda.com
  • Search our catalog for DVDs, ebooks, physical books, and more about computers
  • Ask a Librarian online, call 708.532.0160, x.1, or stop by to speak with a Librarian or Computer Assistant